Religion in Beer
Prior to 1906 Beer was part of the parish of Seaton and Beer and thus the Seaton vicar was responsible for serving the churchgoers of Beer. In 1906 Beer became a Church parish in its own right and so had its own vicar, Rev. A. Hollis.
On the site where the Church currently stands, stood a Chapel until 1876. This Chapel was probably built by the Walrond family who were Lords of the Manor. According to Arthur J.Chapple in “Beer in Time and Tide”, the Chapel was built in 1500, but the Church’s own guide is rather more conservative and states that it “stood on the site since around 1600 A.D.”
The present Church of St Michael was consecrated in 1878. The cost of the building was borne by Hon. Mark Rolle who was the Lord of the Manor. It was originally built with a spire, but this was removed in 1964 for safety reasons, and replaced with the current tower. The present Church contains 2 memorials from the Walrond Chapel.
According to Arthur J.Chapple in his book “Walk Beer with me”, when the Walrond Chapel was demolished in 1876, a cave was found under the eastern end of the building. He suggests that this cave had been used by smugglers.
The Gospel Hall took over 2 years to build and was completed in 1700. It is said that the door of this building was made from the timbers of a Spanish ship that was wrecked in the bay. This was built and paid for by a group of Dissenters who used it until 1856 when a new chapel,the Congregational Hall, was opened for service. The Gospel Hall was then taken over by the Wesleyans and is currently used by the Plymouth Brethren.
The Congregational Hall currently contains a Wurlitzer organ, believed to be the first to be installed in the U.K. The Chapel was enlarged in 1880 and in 1920 the adjacent house was purchased.
Beer beach is a natural suntrap and the waters in the bay are very sheltered with the imposing limestone cliffs giving protection from the wind. Because it is a ‘working beach’ the picturesque paraphernalia of the fishing industry with its brightly coloured wooden boats, nets, winches and neon-coloured floats add to its charm with the […]... Read More
Norman Lockyer Observatory
Stargazers will love a visit to the Norman Lockyer Observatory. Founded in 1912 by Sir Norman Lockyer, the observatory was a centre for... Read More
For all lovers of nature and the great outdoors, Escot is a unique experience and offers a great family day out. Set in... Read More
Dolphin Antiques and Collectables
An Aladdin’s cave of affordable antique, vintage and collectable items can be found at the Dolphin Antiques and Collectables Centre, situated behind the... Read More
Situated in the centre of Beer village, just 150 yards from the beach. The three en-suite rooms have a TV, local information guide... Read More